Hi everybody and yes indeed, today is the last day that we will be taking pre-registrations for Go Slow England. If all goes to plan (fingers crossed!) it will be available to buy from the Alastair Sawday Publishing online bookshop tomorrow and I’ll be emailing everybody who pre-registered a special code for a 45% discount. Today will also be the last day you can vote in our poll on the best place in England to go slow.

Click here to pre-register and vote.

Also, in one week Go Slow England publisher and author Alastair Sawday makes his first promotional appearance at Stanfords in Bristol. Click here for details and click here for a full list of Alastair’s appearances.

Until then, I’ll leave you with the next instalment of The Hog Blog.

Cheers, Thomas

The Hog Blog – September 2007

The Hog Blog - September 2007 

Back from a week’s holiday to find two enormously enlarged pigs and what was a dry, pretty meadow now like the Somme. It must have been raining here, then. Still no shed, no sign of a shed, all the straw under a tarpaulin (soaking wet) and the food in a dustbin (rather damp). Pigs standing in ankle deep mud, is this okay? Cleared the hard standing at least, which was covered in sopping sods of earth – bloody heavy to shift – used the fork in the end and then swept and swept. We have a hard standing again to feed them on (they’ve learned to go to the hard standing to be fed which is good – saving the fence from too much hysterical pressure). Other problem is all the straw and poo – not really ‘manuring’ the way I hoped, just sitting there looking larger and larger in pileage each day. How can we deal with it? Got my overalls out for the first time today. V. smart with ‘Dickie’s’ written down the side and padded knees. It’s enormous and navy blue and has all sorts of tremendously useful pockets and zips. I look dreadful in it, nobody will want to marry me now.

Tom coming down this weekend to meet them, Mum was down last week and fell in love with them I think. She bought them a frightfully expensive honeydew melon from Reg the Veg in Clifton and gave them most of it. They very much appreciated it judging by the snorting and squelching and chomping that went on. I surprised them really early on Saturday morning and they were still asleep, wrapped in each other and a straw nest – must be rather cosy, It cheers me that they’re are so deeply companionable. They are still a bit clingy with me, especially when I’m holding the blue bucket (the one they get their nuts in) but when I let them out into the big field now (at weekends and in my lunch hour) they run off, sometimes separately, and I worry that they won’t come back. I just have to move in the direction of the feed dustbin and they are there, streaking across the field like lightning. They feel warm and completely solid, with bristly long hairs and smooth skin. Porker still has a little cut on the back of one of her ears, not getting better, or seeming to get better and then appearing again. Could Mabel be nibbling on her? They are just eating machines really. Fantastic, evolved, omniverous survivors. Stopped worrying about sending Porker to the abattoir, when I suddenly realised that if I fell over and died in their pen they would have absolutely no hesitation in eating me. What a way to go! Anyway, if I am to carry on keeping pigs and learning more about it, I need to send some to the chop or I can’t afford it. Sad fact but there you go. Just hoping the meat will be good.

Nicola

Leave a comment

Subscribe to this blog in a reader

Subscribe to this blog by email

